NerdLounge
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

I want to write a book and get it published

3 posters

Go down

I want to write a book and get it published Empty I want to write a book and get it published

Post by Hirundo Bos Mon Jan 23, 2017 2:45 pm

And I have kind of a plan to get it done. But it's missing a few pieces still, and some of those are the most immediate ones.

I know what I'm going to write about. It's going to a collection of personal essays, around 5000 words each, where I use my diagnosis as a lens to examine my own life, and maybe the human condition. I have two or three chapters I'm more or less halfway through.

I know how to write. I've been writing steadily for about 7 years, almost daily, in sessions between 30 and 60 minutes each. I am starting to acquire a pretty good toolbox for the task.
The one thing I haven't done a lot of, is completing projects larger than a blog entry, forum post, or unpaid amateur erotic short story. Besides that, I coauthored a role-playing game back in 2008, and that's more or less it.

So finishing a project is the next thing I need to learn, and that's where I'm going to need a plan.
When I'm doing a project all on my own, the structure tends to erode along the way. I get lost in some detail, or I get caught up in another project, you know, something new and shiny… the stamina to see something through has to be learned, and I haven't quite gotten to that point yet.