NerdLounge
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

[Disc/advice] Online messaging and rejection

5 posters

Go down

[Disc/advice] Online messaging and rejection Empty [Disc/advice] Online messaging and rejection

Post by Kiskadee Sun Nov 30, 2014 11:18 pm

So, I'm almost always on the other side of this, but I'm not really good at turning people down, even online. I don't get a lot of messages and tend to reply to almost all of them. But what do you think is the most polite way of indicating that you are no longer interested in a conversation? The few times it's happened, I've tried both not replying any longer, which usually results in the person sending more messages, or stating that I don't think that we would be a good match. If I thought we could be good friends, I'd mention that, but it seems awkward to say that to someone I haven't met, and I don't say that unless I actually mean that I would like to meet up in person as friends.

I think this is most likely to come up for me when someone with a really bare, kinda boring profile messages me, and I want to give them a chance to be cool in case maybe they are just really bad at writing about themselves.

I'd be very interested in hearing how you prefer to deal with this, and also about how you prefer to have this done to you (I know it makes me sad when I stop hearing back from someone, but not sure that hearing the blunt truth would feel any better).
Kiskadee
Kiskadee

Back to top Go down

[Disc/advice] Online messaging and rejection Empty Re: [Disc/advice] Online messaging and rejection

Post by nearly_takuan Mon Dec 01, 2014 2:23 am