Fanfic Tropes

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Fanfic Tropes

Post by reboundstudent on Wed Jul 15, 2015 11:15 pm

I'm a huge fan of fanfiction, but there's no denying that the quality can be.... varied. I've also noticed over the years that there are definite tropes that pop up over and over again in fanfiction in a way that doesn't happen as often in just regular popular media.

For the record, I am also a writer of fanfiction! I thought it would be rather fun to collect a set of fanfic tropes, make drinking game bingo cards, and then read through one of my own writings to see if how many I've subconsciously inserted. Would anyone else on the forum get a kick out of doing this with me? (Either with my writing, their writing, or a random fanfic.)

Once you've got your bingo card and your fanfic, the rules are: find a trope, take a drink. Get a bingo, finish your drink.

Here are some of the trope lists I have already:

-Repeated emphasis on how special the hero/heroine is with little to no demonstration of their uniqueness
-On the other side of the scale, the hero/heroine frequently angst-ing about how not special and average they are, only for everyone around them to insist they are the most incredible, amazing person. Bonus points if love interest is interested in protagonist because of their unique specialness
-Hero/heroine is frequently obstinate, mouthy, or flat out mean, and yet other characters still love them and act as if that's a charming or, at worst, "edgy" way to behave
-Technicolor eyes or hair
-The useless, disposable love interest in a love triangle. Bonus points if there are multiple disposable love interests to demonstrate how extra desirable the hero/heroine is
-Other characters repeatedly remark on how much love interest is into hero/heroine
-Any variation of Draco In Leather Pants
-Belligerent sexual tension
-More than a handful of popular media references. Bonus points if there are actual song lyrics in the fanfic