NerdLounge
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

How to stop overthinking simple stuff?

2 posters

Go down

How to stop overthinking simple stuff? Empty How to stop overthinking simple stuff?

Post by etoile Thu Aug 27, 2015 12:12 pm

A little backstory for context: I'm a 25 year old woman. I've been single for the past 3 years (by choice, I've been really enjoying the single life!). Before that I was in a (very shitty) relationship for 3 years. I only recently started thinking about maybe getting into a serious or semi-serious relationship again, and realized I have very little experience with this sort of thing. I've had quite a few one night stands, FWBs and short-term flings, but have done no "serious" dating.

Now, I don't really have a problem with meeting new guys. I'm fairly attractive, have a wide social circle, go to lots of social events, have no trouble talking to strangers at these events, and I can be quite good at flirting, too. The problem is that I can only do it if I'm not really interested in the guy (i.e. the most I see happening with him is a short-term fling or casual sex). Once I meet someone I see as a potential romantic partner, my brain goes crazy, one half imagining stupid "happily ever after" scenarios, the other half thinking about stuff like "is it weird to hug him when we say goodbye? what do I normally do when I say goodbye to people? what do I normally do with my hands? is it okay to add him on Facebook, or would he think that's weird and stalker-ish?" I always try hard to shut this down because on an intellectual level I realize it's bullshit, but it's usually pretty hard, and I'm probably not as good at hiding it from those guys as I think I am.