NerdLounge
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

I'm not good at supporting others

3 posters

Go down

I'm not good at supporting others Empty I'm not good at supporting others

Post by Hirundo Bos Wed May 17, 2017 6:37 pm

A person I know is having some dark thoughts, and I'm one of the people in their confidence, one of the few they feel close enough to talk to. But I'm not so well equipped to be in someone's confidence like that. It tends to leave me with a lot of thoughts, emotions, and anxieties that I'm not sure how to process. Especially since I don't have a lot of people I can talk to either.

There's some background. It involves some heavy mental health stuff, so I'll put it in spoiler tags.

Spoiler:

(Short version outside of tags: Ten years ago, there were some episodes where they called me late at night in great emotional pain, and I went over to their place to help, but at quite a high emotional cost to myself.)

I was a lot younger then. I knew I had problems with functioning in some areas, but not that I had Asperger's syndrome. I didn't know specifically that I had problems with processing emotions, both other people's and my own. I also had a very vague understanding of boundaries – both other people's and my own. I sensed that they were asking for much, much more than I could give. That sense comprised the greater part of my anxiety. But I didn't know how to say no. I didn't know I even could. Rather than saying "I'm sorry about this, but I can't be the person you can call late at night, or who can turn up at a moment's notice," I considered less drastic solutions like… moving to another part of town.