NerdLounge
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Pretending to Succeed (sorta rant, but need advice)

Go down

Pretending to Succeed (sorta rant, but need advice) Empty Pretending to Succeed (sorta rant, but need advice)

Post by Guest Fri Oct 17, 2014 12:19 pm

So I'm gonna not talk about my usual topic ("oh woe is me") and try to get some advice on something else I've been dealing with lately.

Ever since April, my burgeoning film career basically hit the skids when I was fired from my job without warning. One day I was a 19 year old editor at a production company, editing commercials and promotional materials for a living and making more money than anyone else my age that I knew, the next i was abruptly told to come into the office and told to get out. They were not rude about this, they were just as nice as ever, they simply didn't feel like paying me anymore and I was gone.

So basically the year that was supposed to be my "official" beginning to my success as a filmmaker fell to shit. Since then, I have lived off of the odd video gigs I have gotten (terrible pay but no other choice) and student loans. I'm currently close to failing all of my classes in film school, I've had two suicide attempts since then, and still do not have a full time job.

Only my parents know about all of that (except the suicide attempts, being religious, they absolutely despise those who try it and hate Robin Williams for it). The rest of the year has consisted of the three of us pretending that things are still going great for me. The only part everyone knows is that I was fired. What they don't know is that I am in larger and larger amounts of debt thanks to not getting a single job offer (applications are up to forty-six at last count, most of them minimum wage). They're also the only ones who know how close I am to being kicked out of school (despite how hard i study, my best grade is a 76).