NerdLounge
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Social/economic class

+13
Gentleman Johnny
JP McBride
Werel
caliseivy
reboundstudent
Enail
rj3
jcorozza
Izmuth
BiSian
The Wisp
kath
reboot
17 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

Social/economic class Empty Social/economic class

Post by reboot Wed Apr 22, 2015 12:45 am

It seems like we spend a lot of time talking about the other privileges out there, but social/economic class is one that is not touched on as much (maybe because we are mostly US/Canadian and theoretically classless societies?), so I wanted to have a thread devoted to discussing it.

As most of you know (or can learn from my posting history), I was working class until 13, poor 13-26, and middle class-ish 26-now. Inside, though, I am very conscious that my background is not like that of most of my US born friends and colleagues nor is my present (e.g. co-supporting parents with brother, no safety net) and sometimes I get a bit ragey inside because of the casual assumptions people make (e.g. lose your job and move back to parents - my parents will have no home if I lose my job). I sometimes feel lower SES people are invisible, mocked (e.g. People of Walmart) or demonized
reboot
reboot
Moderator of "Other Relationships" and "Gender, Identity and Society"

Back to top Go down

Social/economic class Empty Re: Social/economic class

Post by kath Wed Apr 22, 2015 1:24 am

I don't think I have a good perspective on that (as I am certainly privileged on that front), but I agree with you that north american society isn't classless, and that the privilege is real and that people (me) make assumptions based on it. And while it makes sense that it's a thing we want* that axis of privilege to be invisible, that also totally makes it easier to be privileged in that it makes it more easy to forget one's privilege when you're privileged on that axis.