NerdLounge
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A game to help combat depression

3 posters

Go down

A game to help combat depression Empty A game to help combat depression

Post by KitKat Mon Aug 31, 2015 2:40 pm

Hi guys,

I have no idea where this kind of thing should go in the forum so I just put it in the off-topic section. So, I'm a game design student, on again off again artist, general creative person and social activist-type. Through one of my courses I have come across the opportunity to potentially do some good by working with social workers and create a game around depression and motivation for young adults. Most probably I'll be working by myself and I can't code more than the mere basics so what I'm aiming toward is very simple mechanics and perhaps making it card-based rather than digital. Not with the goal to educate like Quinn's Depression Quest but more like a simplified version of Chore Wars, trying to add positive feedback and companionship to basic everyday tasks.

It's all in a very early planning stage and I have gathered some resources to get started but I know that the Nerdlove community has a lot of creative, savvy and intelligent people and if you have any suggestions for working with this kind of project, resources to point towards, general suggestions, volunteering to give the game a try when it's ready for beta, or even "this seems like a good idea" or "this seems like a terrible idea because..." it would all be a huge help.

KitKat

Back to top Go down

A game to help combat depression Empty Re: A game to help combat depression

Post by Enail Mon Aug 31, 2015 3:27 pm

Hey, this sounds really cool! It seems too broad for me to really have any thought or suggestions atm, but I will definitely look forward to hearing more!
Enail
Enail
Admin

Back to top Go down

Post by KitKat Mon Aug 31, 2015 3:39 pm