NerdLounge
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Is Magic: The Gathering a total sausage fest?

4 posters

Go down

Is Magic: The Gathering a total sausage fest? Empty Is Magic: The Gathering a total sausage fest?

Post by Hielario Fri Jan 11, 2019 10:15 pm

So I've played MTG in several places/events over the 2/3 years, and, except for a couple teenage girls I saw once, all the players have been male.
Is this the usual or was it just happenstance? Or could it be just my zone? Now that my degree is over and I've stopped bothering with e-dating, I'm trying to find other social spaces through hobby stuff, but this isn't helping.
(Also, I don't think I'm comfortable in exclusively male spaces).
Hielario
Hielario

Back to top Go down

Is Magic: The Gathering a total sausage fest? Empty Re: Is Magic: The Gathering a total sausage fest?

Post by Enail Sat Jan 12, 2019 2:07 pm

I don't play MtG, but uninformed opinions are my specialty  Grin, sooo... my impression is that it's pretty male-dominated but not as much as it used to be;  there used to be at least a few women who played it here or on Prime. Not specific to MtG, but some general thoughts that might be relevant:

In general for hobbies that lean male-dominated, women often concentrate unevenly within the hobby around the subset of the total spaces that are more female-friendly, so it's not uncommon for guys to see a lot of mostly male zones even though more mixed ones exist, or even when the gender balance is roughly equal overall. Even some spaces that seem welcoming and fine to men can land up seeming much less friendly to women, and it's something that many (I'd say most) women will weight as quite important in deciding where to spend time.