NerdLounge
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Identity Politics and Simplifying the Left

+8
rj3
Andrew Corvero
JP McBride
BasedBuzzed
PintsizeBro
The Wisp
eselle28
reboundstudent
12 posters

Go down

Identity Politics and Simplifying the Left Empty Identity Politics and Simplifying the Left

Post by reboundstudent Wed Jun 03, 2015 4:02 pm

Lately I've run across several articles (two posted below) in which left-leaning authors ponder whether the current atmosphere of identity politics and activism is in fact harming liberal education as a whole. I am very new to this topic and still kind of pondering these ideas, but wondering what other folks think. This in particular really engaged me:

It's also why seemingly piddling matters of cultural consumption warrant much more emotional outrage than concerns with larger material implications. Compare the number of web articles surrounding the supposed problematic aspects of the newest Avengers movie with those complaining about, say, the piecemeal dismantling of abortion rights. The former outnumber the latter considerably, and their rhetoric is typically much more impassioned and inflated. I'd discuss this in my classes — if I weren't too scared to talk about abortion.

What do you guys think?

http://www.vox.com/2015/6/3/8706323/college-professor-afraid

http://jezebel.com/feminist-students-protest-feminist-prof-for-writing-abo-1707714321
reboundstudent
reboundstudent

Back to top Go down

Identity Politics and Simplifying the Left Empty Re: Identity Politics and Simplifying the Left

Post by eselle28 Wed Jun 03, 2015 4:26 pm