NerdLounge
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Coping/Reframing: What Rings True?

3 posters

Go down

Coping/Reframing: What Rings True? Empty Coping/Reframing: What Rings True?

Post by nearly_takuan Wed Jun 17, 2015 4:01 am

In the process of getting my thoughts down I will unavoidably find myself using words such as "truth", "never", and "impossible". In part because I am stubborn and will never stop exaggerating, and in part because one of the themes of this thread is going to be "what rings true," it will be impossible to use different words instead. As a mathematician, I am accustomed to thinking about problems that can never be solved; as an engineer, I am accustomed to leaving certain things as rough approximations of the best I can do rather than insist that everything be perfect on the first go, with no need for maintenance; as myself, I may not know Reality, but I know my reality. But I also know these are not concepts that are comfortable or palatable to everyone here, so if it helps, you can probably safely replace "truth" with "nearly_takuan's distorted opinions", "impossible" with "what seems to be an excessively complicated function of probability, stuffed full of very small-looking scalars", "never" with "ain't gonna happen", and so forth—as necessary.

I've had what might be called a small revelation, over the course of the past day or so, which seems to have partially answered the question I've spent so much time pondering. And it happened sort of by accident.